Does Anybody NOT Like Oldies?

Like, all-out hate them?

I can understand being tired of certain songs or artists (See: Mungo Jerry, In the Summertime) but still appreciating them. But just general distaste? I don’t understand that at all! I mean, how could you hate The Supremes, The Temptations, Elvis, Dusty Springfield and everybody else? I think hatred of the oldies might be diagnosable.

And while I’m thinking about it, Then He Kissed Me, by The Crystals, may be one of the best songs ever. I can’t one-hundred-percent put my finger on why, but trust me. I wish girls still sang like that. The background singers in Meat Loaf’s You Took the Words Right Out of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night) are perhaps the most recent I can think of. Anyways, I swear that I somewhere that the first time Brian Wilson heard this song he pulled over and cried. I don’t blame him- the horns around 0:42, the strings around 1:11… Jeez. I think it is Phil Spector’s greatest production ever. The song itself is so optimistic and romantic.

I think part of why I love this song is from it’s use in the dating montage in Goodfellas. Well, that at least turned me on to the brilliance of that song. It is pure wall of sound, and every sound in that song is perfect, from the Castanets to the saxophone. I feel like I’m actually in love (with some idea I guess?) when I hear that song. Anyways, if  I were to start a top 20 favorite songs list, that would definitely be in it.

Anybody else got a favorite Oldies song? (especially the obscure! I just found Sam Cooke’s Tennessee Waltz about a year ago, and I love it!)

This entry was posted in Favorite Songs, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

