Shoes.

I am in love with my Nike Free Run+ shoes!

Banana Time

I figure that since I'm not all that fast, I can make up for it in offensiveness.

These shoes are so much fun. I’m trying to ease my way into the barefoot running craze, and these were my first step. I love that yellow, and I really like the Nike chip thing that interfaces with my iPod. I don’t plan on ever getting any Vibram FiveFingers; those things are just so silly looking and pretentious (in the bad way).  I agree with the science, but I might just be a little too conservative for all that. My next shoes should be more of these, but I also want some Merrell Trail Gloves, or the New Balance Minimus; those are both great looking shoes in the barefoot realm. I wonder if the Vibrams are going to be a joke in a few years. Even if the shoes themselves are, I applaud their concept, and I hope that this Barefoot craze lasts.

Speaking of barefoot running, I think it’s really odd that this barefoot thing, which I am convinced of, is happening at the same time as those ridiculous “rocker” shoes. By rocker I mean those “toning” shoes that are shaped like a boat on the bottom. Skechers makes those ridiculous shape-up things, and I know other brands have caught on. I don’t understand how both of these shoes can exist simultaneously- I mean, those “toning” shoes are antithetical to the Barefoot idea, and it seems like science has Barefoot’s back. I understand the skepticism of barefoot running, but it still makes more sense than wearing some ridiculous looking diabetic shoe. I feel like those are only marketed to people who watch daytime tv and smoke discount cigarettes.

This entry was posted in Crossfit, Fitness, Observations, Product Placement, Running, Shoes, Whining and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

